If you have an injured bird or other wildlife, please do not call Desert Rivers Audubon. Call one of these rescue/rehabilitator organizations. Liberty Wildlife primarily serves the central valley.
East Valley Wildlife serves the east valley, Fallen Feathers serves the west valley, and Wild at Heart in Cave Creek only takes raptors. Each of these groups can assist you.


National Audubon Society

Audubon Society in Arizona

Audubon Arizona http://az.audubon.org
Appleton-Whittell Research Ranch http://www.audubonresearchranch.org

Audubon Chapters

Desert Rivers Audubon Society www.desertriversaudubon.org
Huachuca Audubon Society www.huachuca-audubon.org/index.php
Maricopa Audubon Society www.maricopaaudubon.org
Northern Arizona Audubon Society http://nazaudubon.com
Prescott Audubon Society www.prescottaudubon.org
Sonoran Audubon Society www.sonoranaudubon.org
Tucson Audubon Society www.tucsonaudubon.org
White Mountain Audubon Society www.whitemountainaudubon.org
Yuma County Audubon Society www.audubonyuma.org

National Birding / Environmental Organizations

American Birding Association www.americanbirding.org
American Ornithologists' Union www.aou.org
Neotropical Bird Club www.neotropicalbirdclub.org
North American Breeding Bird Survey www.mbr-pwrc.usgs.gov/bbs/bbs.htm
Partners in Flight www.partnersinflight.org
Peregrine Fund www.peregrinefund.org/default.asp
Sierra Club www.sierraclub.org
Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center http://nationalzoo.si.edu
The Nature Conservancy www.nature.org
Western Field Ornithologists Home Page www.westernfieldornithologists.org
Wilson Ornithological Society www.wilsonsociety.org
PRBO Conservation Science www.prbo.org
Cornell Lab of Ornithology www.birds.cornell.edu

Local Organizations / Chapters

Arizona Field Ornithologists (AZFO) www.azfo.org
Arizona Native Plant Society http://aznps.com
Nature Conservancy in Arizona www.nature.org/wherewework/northamerica/states/arizona
Southeastern Arizona Bird Observatory www.sabo.org
Southeastern Arizona Birding Trail Map www.seazbirdingtrail.com
Open Here’s AZ birding resources www.openhere.com/hac/birding/north-america/usa/arizona

Arboretums

Desert Botanical Gardens (Phoenix) www.dbg.org
Boyce Thompson Arboretum (Superior) http://arboretum.ag.arizona.edu
Flagstaff Arboretum (Flagstaff) www.thearb.org

Nature Preserves

Ramsey Canyon Preserve –
Nature Conservancy, Sierra Vista, AZ
http://www.nature.org/.../art1973.html
Hassayampa River Preserve –
Nature Conservancy, Wickenburg, AZ
http://www.nature.org/.../art1970.html

Zoos / Nature Parks

Arizona Sonora Desert Museum www.desertmuseum.org
The Phoenix Zoo www.phoenixzoo.org
Gilbert Riparian Preserve www.riparianinstitute.org
Veterans Oasis Park www.chandleraz.gov/default.aspx?pageid=682

Birding Equipment Resources

Tucson Audubon www.tucsonaudubon.org/natureshop/products2.htm
Eagle Optics www.eagleoptics.com
Pond and Pet Center 10701 N. Scottsdale Rd #103 Scottsdale 480-214-0062
Bass Pro Shops www.basspro.com
REI Stores www.rei.com
All Best Binoculars allbestbinoculars.com

Books

Books from Desert Rivers Audubon www.desertriversaudubon.org
Tucson Audubon Nature Store www.tucsonaudubon.org/natureshop/products2

Birding Festivals - Local

Tres Rios Nature Festival - 2nd, 3rd, or 4th weekend in March www.tresriosnaturefestival.com
Feathered Friends Festival - March - last weekend of March www.riparianinstitute.org
Wings Over Willcox, Willcox, AZ, January, 520-384-2272, 800-200-2272 www.wingsoverwillcox.com
Wildflower Festival, Tohono Chul Park, Tucson, AZ, April, 520-742-6455 www.tohonochulpark.org
Verde Valley Birding Festival, Cottonwood, AZ, April, 2003, 928-282-2202 www.birdyverde.org
Yuma Birding Festival, Yuma, AZ, April, 2003, 800-293-0071 http://yumabirding.org
Fiesta de Las Aves International Migration Celebration, Bisbee, AZ, May www.sabo.org/activity.htm#fdla
Southwest Wings Birding Festival, Sierra Vista, AZ, 800-946-4777 www.swwings.org

Birding Festivals - National

Wings 'n' Water Festival www.wetlandsinstitute.org
The Monterey Bay Bird Festival www.elkhornslough.org
Rio Grande Valley Birding Festival www.harlingen.com
Festival of the Cranes www.friendsofthebosque.org/crane
Wings Over Water: North Carolina, November 9-14th 2010 www.wingsoverwater.org

Arizona Birding

Audubon Christmas Bird Counts in Arizona www.desertriversaudubon.org
Birding locations in AZ and Maricopa County www.maricopaaudubon.org/guide/guide.htm
Arizona Bird Committee www.azfo.org/ArizonaBirdCommittee/index.html
Ask-A-Biologist (asu site) www.askabiologist.asu.edu/expstuff/experiments/birdsongs

Arizona Bird / Nature Photographers

Arizona Birders' Photography http://home.earthlink.net/~bgersten/azbirdphotos.html
James Prudente's Photography Page www.pbase.com/silverbowff
Raptor Photo: Birds of Prey in Arizona http://raptorphoto.sundala.com/
Robert Shantz's Photography Page www.rshantz.com/
Natural Impacts/Jim Burns www.jimburnsphotos.com
Desert Rivers Website-Album Page www.desertriversaudubon.org
Naturescapes, Cindy Marple http://naturescapes.net
EJ Peiker www.ejphoto.com

Advocacy Groups/Conservation Specific Issues

Citizens Water Advocacy Group AZ www.cwagaz.org
CEDOwww.cedointercultural.org
Center for Biological Diversity www.biologicaldiversity.org
Arizona League of Conservation Voters www.azlcv.org
Coalition for Sonoran Desert Protection www.sonorandesert.org
Desert Foothills Land Trust www.dflt.org
McDowell Sonoran Conservancy www.mcdowellsonoran.org

Butterfly Groups

Central Arizona Butterfly Association www.cazba.org
North American Butterfly Association www.naba.org
Southeastern Arizona Butterfly Association www.naba.org/chapters/nabasa/home.html

General Birding Information

Birding Binoculars Guide www.birding-binoculars.net
Birding.com –includes AZ info, see "Where to Bird" www.birding.com
Birding on the Net http://birdingonthe.net
Birding Pal – contact birders from anywhere www.birdingpal.org
Comfortable Birding For All - Accessibility issues in birding www.comfortablebirdingforall.com
Cornell Lab of Ornithology course in bird biology www.birds.cornell.edu/homestudy
Great Outdoor Recreation Page http://gorp.away.com/gorp/activity/birding.htm
National Bird-Feeding Society www.birdfeeding.org
Peterson's Web Site www.houghtonmifflinbooks.com/peterson/petersonhome.cfm
Shorebird Watcher http://pw1.netcom.com/~djhoff/shorebrd.html
Virtual Birder www.virtualbirder.com
Virtual Birder (bird song matcher ID game) www.virtualbirder.com/vbirder/...
Western Hemisphere Shorebird Reserve Network www.whsrn.org
Desert Harvesters www.desertharvesters.org
Rainwater Harvesting for Drylands www.harvestingrainwater.com

Publications

Bird Watchers Digest www.birdwatchersdigest.com/site/index.aspx
Birders World Magazine www.birdersworld.com
Birding magazine (ABA) www.aba.org/birding

Wildlife Rehabilitators

(Birds and other wildlife)
Liberty Wildlife www.libertywildlife.org
Wild at Heart no website-
East Valley Wildlife www.eastvalleywildlife.org
Fallen Feathers www.fallenfeathers.org

Teacher’s Resources

(See Education Page)